Punjab Lok Sabha Elections Date & Schedule 2019

Sponsored Links

The Indian Election Commission has declared the General Elections schedule for the year 2019 today i.e. on 10/3/2019. According to the schedule the elections are to be held in seven phases for the 543 Lok Sabha Constituencies. The first Phase of Lok Sabha General Elections will be held on 11th April 2019 while the last Phase of General Elections will be held on 19th May 2019. The General Elections results will be announced on 23rd May 2019.

Sponsored Links

The Indian Parliament elections will be held once in 5 years because the Parliament term in India will be for 5 years. The 16th Parliament term will be completed by the March so the Election Commission of India released the Lok Sabha Election Schedule for the 17th Parliament. There are 545 MP seats in Indian Parliament out of these 545 Lok Sabha Constituencies 543 are elected by the eligible voters of India and the remaining 2 Lok Sabha seats are nominated by the President of India.

Sponsored Links

2019 Lok Sabha Elections Highlights:

  • Parliament Elections will be held in seven phases in all the 29 states and 7 Union Territories.
  • Parliament elections 2019 polling starts from 11th April to 19th May 2019.
  • Lok Sabha General Elections will be held for all the 543 Constituencies.
Sponsored Links

Punjab Lok Sabah Elections Date & Schedule:

S.NO Election Event Election event Date Election Event Day
1 Election Notification 22nd April 2019 Monday
2 Nominations of Candidates starts on 22nd April 2019 Monday
3 Last Date for Nominations of Candidates 29th April 2019 Monday
4 Scrutiny of Nominations 30th April 2019 Tuesday
5 Last Date for withdrawing the Nominations 2nd May 2019 Thursday
6 Voting Day   19th May 2019 Sunday
7 Counting of Votes Starts on 23rd May 2019 Thursday

Lok Sabha Constituencies of Punjab

The Punjab State consists of 13 Lok Sabha Constituencies, in the 13 Lok Sabha Constituencies 4 Constituencies are reserved for scheduled castes whereas the remaining 9 Lok Sabha Constituencies are in general category. In the 2014 General Elections which were held for the 16th Lok Sabha, the Indian National Congress Party won 4 seats, the SAD party won 4 seats, AAP Party won 4 Seats whereas the BJP party has won 1 seat.

Sponsored Links

The Punjab State consists of 117 Assembly Constituencies and 13 Lok Sabha Constituencies. In the Last General elections for the 16th Lok Sabha NDA (BJP+ SAD) won 9 seats out of 13 seats and the remaining 4 seats were won the AAP party. In the last Legislative Assembly Elections of Punjab, UPA (INC) won 77 seats out of 117 and formed the Government.

Sponsored Links

Major Political Parties in Punjab from 1951:

Indian National Congress (INC)

Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP)

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)

Aam Admi Party (AAP)

Sponsored Links

General Elections Results from 1951 to 2014 Punjab:

1951 General Elections for the First Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1957 General Elections for the Second Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1962 General Elections for the Third Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1967 General Elections for the Fourth Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1971 General Elections for the Fifth Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1977 General Elections for the Sixth Lok Sabha: Janata alliance (SAD, BLD, CPI (M)): 13 seats

1980 General Elections for the Seventh Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress: 10, CPI: 2, Akali Dal: 1

1984 General Elections for the Eighth Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1989 General Elections for the Ninth Lok Sabha: National Front

1991 General Elections for the Tenth Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1996 General Elections for the Eleventh Lok Sabha: Shiromani Akali Dal

1998 General Elections for the Twelfth Lok Sabha: NDA (SAD, BJP)

1999 General Elections for the Thirteenth Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

2004 General Elections for the Fourteenth Lok Sabha: NDA (SAD, BJP)

2009 General Elections for the Fifteenth Lok Sabha: UPA

2014 General Elections for the Sixteenth Lok Sabha: NDA (SAD, BJP): 9, AAP: 4

Sponsored Links

Total Number of Lok Sabha Constituencies in Punjab are 13

No.              Constituency                Reserved for(SC/ST/None)
1                    Gurdaspur                                –
2                    Amritsar                                    –
3                    Khadoor Sahib                        –
4                    Jalandhar                                  SC
5                    Hoshiarpur                               SC
6                    Anandpur Sahib                      –
7                    Ludhiana                                  –
8                    Fatehgarh Sahib                      SC
9                    Faridkot                                     SC
10                  Firozpur                                    –
11                  Bathinda                                   –
12                  Sangrur                                     –
13                  Patiala                                       –

Sponsored Links

Sixteenth Lok Sabha Punjab Members List:

1 Amritsar Aujla,Shri Gurjeet Singh INC
2 Anandpur Sahib Chandumajra,Shri Prem Singh SAD
3 Bathinda Badal,Smt. Harsimrat Kaur SAD
4 Faridkot(SC) Singh,Prof. Sadhu AAP
5 Fatehgarh Sahib(SC) Khalsa,Shri Harinder Singh AAP
6 Ferozpur Ghubaya,Shri Sher Singh SAD
7 Gurdaspur Jakhar,Shri Sunil Kumar INC
8 Hoshiarpur(SC) Sampla,Shri Vijay BJP
9 Jalandhar Chaudhary,Shri Santokh Singh INC
10 Khadoor Sahib Brahmpura,Shri Ranjit Singh SAD
11 Ludhiana Singh,Shri Ravneet INC
12 Patiala Gandhi,Dr. Dharam Vira AAP
13 Sangrur Mann,Shri Bhagwant AAP

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *