Kerala Lok Sabha Elections Date & Schedule 2019

Sponsored Links Sponsored Links

The Indian Election Commission has declared the General Elections schedule for the year 2019 today i.e. on 10/3/2019. According to the schedule the elections are to be held in seven phases for the 543 Lok Sabha Constituencies. The first Phase of Lok Sabha General Elections will be held on 11th April 2019 while the last Phase of General Elections will be held on 19th May 2019. The General Elections results will be announced on 23rd May 2019.

Sponsored Links

The Indian Parliament elections will be held once in 5 years because the Parliament term in India will be for 5 years. The 16th Parliament term will be completed by the March so the Election Commission of India released the Lok Sabha Election Schedule for the 17th Parliament. There are 545 MP seats in Indian Parliament out of these 545 Lok Sabha Constituencies 543 are elected by the eligible voters of India and the remaining 2 Lok Sabha seats are nominated by the President of India.

Sponsored Links

2019 Lok Sabha Elections Highlights:

  • Parliament Elections will be held in seven phases in all the 29 states and 7 Union Territories.
  • Parliament elections 2019 polling starts from 11th April to 19th May 2019.
  • Lok Sabha General Elections will be held for all the 543 Constituencies.
Sponsored Links

Kerala Lok Sabah Elections Date & Schedule:

S.NO Election Event Election event Date Election Event Day
1 Election Notification 28th March 2019 Thursday
2 Nominations of Candidates starts on 28th March 2019 Thursday
3 Last Date for Nominations of Candidates 4th April 2019 Thursday
4 Scrutiny of Nominations 5th April 2019 Friday
5 Last Date for withdrawing the Nominations 8th April 2019 Monday
6 Voting Day 23rd  April 2019 Tuesday
7 Counting of Votes Starts on 23rd May 2019 Thursday
Sponsored Links

Lok Sabha Constituencies of Kerala

The total number of Lok Sabha Constituencies in Kerala state is 20. Out of these 20 Lok Sabha Constituencies, 2 Constituencies are reserved for scheduled castes and the remaining 18 Lok Sabha Constituencies are in general category. In the 2014 General elections, the Indian National Congress party has won 7 seats, CPI(M) has won 5 seats, IUML party won 2 seats and the CPI party has won 1 seat, RSP has won 1 seat and the rest of the 2 seats were won by others.

Sponsored Links

The Kerala State consists of 20 Lok Sabha Seats and 140 Assembly Constituencies. In the Last General Elections for the 16th Lok Sabha, United Democratic Front won the Lok Sabha Seats. In the General elections for the Legislative Assembly which were held in the year 2016, the Left Democratic Front won the won the elections and formed the Government for the 15th Assembly and Pinarayi Vijayan became the Chief Minister of Kerala State.

Sponsored Links

Major Political Parties in Kerala from 1951:

Indian National Congress (INC)

Communist Party of India (CPI)

Communist Party of India Marxist (CPIM)


Kerala Congress (KEC)

Sponsored Links

Kerala General Elections Results from 1951 to 2014:

1951 General Elections for the First Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1957 General Elections for the Second Lok Sabha: Communist Party of India

1962 General Elections for the Third Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1967 General Elections for the Fourth Lok Sabha               : Communist Parties (CPI (M), CPI, SSP)

1971 General Elections for the Fifth Lok Sabha: United Front (INC, KEC, CPI)

1977 General Elections for the Sixth Lok Sabha: United Front (INC, KEC, CPI, ML, RSP)

1980 General Elections for the Seventh Lok Sabha: Left Front (CPI (M), CPI)

1984 General Elections for the Eighth Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1989 General Elections for the Ninth Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1991 General Elections for the Tenth Lok Sabha: Indian National Congress

1996 General Elections for the Eleventh Lok Sabha: United Front (CPM, CPI, JD, RSP)

1998 General Elections for the Twelfth Lok Sabha: United Democratic Front (INC, ML, KEC (M))

1999 General Elections for the Thirteenth Lok Sabha: United Democratic Front (INC, ML, KEC (M))

2004 General Elections for the Fourteenth Lok Sabha: Left Democratic Front (CPI (M), CPI)

2009 General Elections for the Fifteenth Lok Sabha: United Democratic Front (INC, ML, KEC (M))

2014 General Elections for the Sixteenth Lok Sabha: United Democratic Front (INC, ML, KEC (M))

Sponsored Links

Total Number of Lok Sabha Constituencies in Kerala are 20

No.                Constituency             Reserved for(SC/ST/None)
1                       Kasaragod                       None
2                       Kannur                            None
3                       Vatakara                          None
4                       Wayanad                         None
5                       Kozhikode                       None
6                       Malappuram                  None
7                       Ponnani                           None
8                       Palakkad                          None
9                       Alathur                            SC
10                     Thrissur                          None
11                     Chalakudy                      None
12                     Ernakulam                      None
13                     Idukki                               None
14                     Kottayam                         None
15                     Alappuzha                       None
16                     Mavelikara                      SC
17                     Pathanamthitta              None
18                     Kollam                               None
19                     Attingal                              None
20                     Thiruvananthapuram      None

Sponsored Links

Sixteenth Lok Sabha Kerala Members List:

1 Alappuzha Venugopal,Shri K. C. INC
2 Alathur Biju,Dr. Parayamparambil Kuttappan CPI(M)
3 Attingal Sampath,Dr. Anirudhan CPI(M)
4 Chalakudy Innocent,Shri Ind.
5 Ernakulam Thomas,Prof. Kuruppassery Varkey INC
6 Idukki George,Shri (Adv.) Joice Ind.
7 Kannur Teacher,Smt. P.K. Sreemathi CPI(M)
8 Kasaragod Karunakaran,Shri P. CPI(M)
9 Kollam Premachandran,Shri N.K. RSP
10 Kozhikode Raghavan,Shri M. K. INC
11 Malappuram P.K.,Shri Kunhalikutty IUML
12 Mavelikkara Kodikunnil,Shri Suresh INC
13 Palakkad Rajesh,Shri M. B. CPI(M)
14 Pathanamthitta Antony, Shri Anto INC
15 Ponnani Basheer,Shri E. T. Mohammed IUML
16 Thiruvananthapuram Tharoor,Dr. Shashi INC
17 Thrissur Jayadevan,Shri C. N. CPI
18 Vadakara Mullappally,Shri Ramachandran INC

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *